Thursday, April 12, 2007

Go Canucks Go!

OK, Henrik Sedin scores on a pass from Daniel Sedin in quadruple overtime! I can finally get to work now....


OK, I deserved it, but I still want to nail this guy

So I found a Mac Book Pro on craigslist that was too good to be true. The original post was here on craigslist. A red Mac Book Pro, 2 GHz, 2 GB of RAM, MS Office and Final Cut Pro, and a 3 year warranty, with over two years left on it. All for $1700. Too good to be true. But the guy was in the UK, advertising in the Vancouver ad. I smelled a rat, but it was just too tantalizing to pass up. Inquired at a few, but kept coming back to this one because it was just too good. Finally, I fell for the bait.

Seller claimed to be using SafeFunds. I had never used SafeFunds before, but just followed his instructions, because it was too good to be true. By this time, I was blind and ignoring all warning signals. The supposed SafeFunds e-mail came from As well, what kind of a website service does all their transactions through e-mail, as I had to do? I was a complete idiot. I was blind to all the signs. It's now clear that I have a weakness of becoming weak if I see something that I really want.

So I deserved it, but I still want to nail this guy. I want my money back as well if possible, obviously.

The $1700 was wired via Western Union to the following:

Richard Daniells
London, UK
Probably a fake name, and fake ID was probably used to pick up the money. The person that posted the craigslist ad was a "Matthew Collins" at Not sure what kind of leads can be found there. I do have the money transfer control number (MTCN) if that helps at all.

Here's the whois info for the domain:

Domain Name:

The results below are provided by REGISTER.COM, INC. (

The data in's WHOIS database is provided to you by for information purposes only, that is, to assist you in obtaining information about or related to a domain name registration record. makes this information available "as is," and does not guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a WHOIS query, you agree that you will use this data only for lawful purposes and that, under no circumstances will you use this data to: (1) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass unsolicited, commercial advertising or solicitations via direct mail, electronic mail, or by telephone; or (2) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes that apply to (or its systems). The compilation, repackaging, dissemination or other use of this data is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of reserves the right to modify these terms at any time. By submitting this query, you agree to abide by these terms. =-=-=-=

Registration Service Provided By: NJDomains, Abuse Contact:

Domain name:

Registrant Contact:
NJDomains, Abuse Contact:
Gerald Gorman (
Fax: none
33 Knightsbridge Rd.
Piscataway, NJ 08854

Administrative Contact:
NJDomains, Abuse Contact:
Gerald Gorman (
Fax: none
33 Knightsbridge Rd.
Piscataway, NJ 08854

Technical Contact:
NJDomains, Abuse Contact:
Gerald Gorman (
Fax: none
33 Knightsbridge Rd.
Piscataway, NJ 08854

Status: Locked

Name Servers:

Creation date: 19 Oct 1996 00:00:00
Expiration date: 18 Oct 2007 00:00:00
Here's the e-mail that Safefunds sent to me.
Mr. Park,
I am sorry to inform you that you have been a victim of the Internet Western Union Money Gram scam. The party you have been dealing with has absolutely nothing to do with the real SAFEFUNDS.COM As you can easily see the email you received came from an address at SAFEFUNDS members NEVER send funds to anyone except their own SAFEFUNDS accounts. All SAFEFUNDS transactions require both parties to be SAFEFUNDS members and to conduct all business on our web site. SAFEFUNDS manages transactions, we do not store or ship goods. On our web site at we have a warning about this particular scam. We suggest you report this event to wherever you first saw the ad, Western Union, and the Internet Crime group of the FBI.
OK, anyone have any ideas? :) Currently filling out an Internet Crime Complaint form, and will call Western Union and the police in the morning. But there must be more that I can do.

Update: Started a thread on this at HCW.

Update: Filed a fraud report with Western Union. The money was picked up at 6:06 AM, Eastern Standard Time, at Potters Bar, UK. The place is a little northwest of London, and is shown here.

Update: Pete Quily found out a bit more about this guy that owns the domain. He's kind of shady. :)

Tuesday, April 03, 2007

How's this for parity?

How much proof do you need to know that the NHL has reached parity among all of its teams?

Check this out.

As of April 3, 2007, only 12 points separated 1st place in the Western Conference from 8th place. In the Eastern Conference, it's a bit more at 19 points for the delta. But also consider the fact that in the Eastern Conference, not one, but two teams that are currently not in the playoff picture still have a chance of making the playoffs. As well, three teams are still battling for the President's Trophy! Usually, the President's Trophy gets wrapped up a bit earlier.

While we can't be entirely sure that this parity is due to the salary cap, all evidence does point in that direction.

Playoffs. :D Go Canucks Go!

Monday, April 02, 2007

I loved her

We went steady for all of what, four hours? She was the perfect girl.

April Fan, I will never forget you. I wish I could run into girls like you more than just one day a year. :(

I wanted to do something more elaborate for April Fools, but didn't have time to prepare. And then all of sudden, it was April 1. So I resorted to a play on last year's trick. I didn't get nearly the same result though. People have wisened up a bit. :(

Anton Lina is going down next year. I swear it.